It’s OK to be different 

I live in the culture that still expects a woman to marry a guy at a certain age. Most of the women in my age, in this particular area, are either married with kids or are getting married soon. I am, on the other hand, is none of the above. 

I have been spending my life post high school on education and building my  career. Lately, I have been searching for a training facility that will provide me with high level of specific skills. My field requires me to keep studying and updating my knowledge. School is not ended after I obtained my diploma. 

Over the years, I learned to not feel bothered seeing my friends’ wedding pictures or hearing that someone whom I know is getting married. I learned to anticipate relatives’ questions when they asked why I did not bring a boyfriend home. I figured it is more important building a legacy in the place where I live than finding a husband. I figured I will meet someone along the way, I just don’t know when and where.   

I conclude that this is the dynamic of life. We see joyful to tearful moment, easy to difficult, all are blended together. Take it as it is, digest as best as you can, and come up with the better plans.

-mws- 

Leave a Reply

