A little girl with a fake pearl necklace 

This morning I read a story about a girl who refused to give her fake pearl necklace to her dad because she loved that necklace and felt that she worked hard to earn it. The story is ended with her finally giving that necklace to her dad and to her surprise, her dad already prepared a new real pearl necklace for her. Furthermore, the author also reminded readers the importance of letting go everything that is fake because God has prepared something good for us.

 
Just like that girl with a fake pearl necklace, I have a baggage that is full with things and/or people who simply are not worth to be considered or pursued. I insist to keep this heavy baggage which cause it hard for me to walk fast. 
The girl in the story preferred to lose other items, but not this fake necklace. Similarly, I give myself lots of excuse to let go certain things and people because I am afraid that I won’t be able to get back to the state where I’ve always thought it was a precious time. This fear hinders me from seeing and understanding perhaps that time wasn’t really precious. Greater thing is waiting in front of me. 

The girl suspected something was off because her dad asked her twice about that necklace. So, the next day when her dad approached her, she immediately gave that necklace to her dad. She was shocked when in return, her dad gave her a new necklace and this time a real pearl. While it did not take that long for the girl to realize, it took a while for me to slowly throw unnecessary things and/or people out from my luggage. I should have pick the cue fast, but I did not. Time, new people who live around me, my family, and other people’s stories have been helping me to pick the cues and connect the dots. 

The girl gets a new pearl necklace. Meanwhile, I learn to sort unnecessary stuff and use the available resources to make a brand new luggage. Bigger and stronger luggage. It won’t fall apart when someone throws it. It won’t break, although a thief tries to open it. 

I hope you are able to throw or bid farewell to things/persons/ habits that are fake and unhealthy to you. I understand it’s not easy, but I encourage you to try.
 

Leave a Reply

