Messages from my Nana 

I originally wrote this story in Bahasa for a writing competition hosted by IDNtimes. The story didn’t pass for selection, so I rewrote it in English. This story is a tribute to my grandmother who passed away long time ago

Dear my granddaughter, 

How are you sweetie? Is everything okay over there? I write this letter because I miss you. This old lady is too old to survive on the 20 hours flight. 

I heard from your Mom that you got a new job in New York. I’m so proud of you! I know you will do well in your career. However, I am worried that you live alone and far from your family. I know you are an adult, but still, the thought of knowing you live far from home sometimes makes me feel worried. Anyway, I always pray for your safety.

Aside from your new job, your Mom also mentioned that you haven’t had a boyfriend, yet. She said you appear to avoid or distance yourself from any guys who attempt to get to know you. Is there anything that bothers you dear? You know grandma is always ready to listen to you.  

Your mom and I don’t want to rush you into a marriage relationship. We understand marriage is a big thing. We just want you to enjoy life a bit more outside your work. We all know how you love what you do and that’s a terrific, but we would like to see you going out with friends, too. Based on your Mom’s stories, you appear to distrust love and question the importance of marriage. I know there’s no perfect love relationship, but you could always do something to nurture the relationship. My relationship with your grandpa is not all sweet and lovely. We tasted the sour and yucky flavors, too. We survive until these days because we persevere and at the same time nurture our relationship. So, my advice for you is to not be afraid to fall in love with someone. Enjoy your life a bit more! And please come home. Grandma misses you so much!

Take care dear! 

Leave a Reply

